Skip to content

Doodle-a-Day: June 11

June 12, 2013

We’ve moved on to the portrait in my figure drawing class, and are diving even further into the experimental side of things. I found it a lot more challenging this time, because I’ve committed a lot more technical study to the face, and it became harder to shut off that part of my brain that kept insisting that something didn’t look “correct.” I think both of these pieces could still use some work, but I like where they’re headed. The second piece is an attempt to draw in the negative, inverting blacks and whites — this made things even more challenging, which probably caused the disproportionality, but made me focus more on mark-making instead. Hoping I have more time this week to finish these.

2013-06-11_exerimental-portrait01

2013-06-11_exerimental-portrait02

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

