Skip to content

Post-Apocalyptic tour of Six Flags New Orleans

November 8, 2010

Here’s another one from the “Stuff I should have checked out and posted a lot sooner” files.

Last month, Teddy Smith shot some footage of the abandoned Six Flags theme park in New Orleans. The park closed down in 2005 on the eve of Hurricane Katrina, and never re-opened. With the help of the City of New Orleans, Mr. Smith was able to get behind the gates and record some gorgeous, unsettling shots of the neglected park.

It’s stuff like this that makes me love the post-apocalyptic genre so much. Of course, the real deal is restricted to the realm of fiction, but videos like this still manage to fully capture the aesthetic that makes for such provocative, disturbing, and immersing images.

For reasons I’m unaware of, Teddy has taken the original video down on YouTube, but it’s still available at LiveLeak. If the reasons behind his take down have something to do with his IP, I’ll gladly direct you to his home base instead. But until then, check out the video here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Hotmayobunny permalink
    December 8, 2010 10:41 pm

    I seen this today, and I must agree. The post-apocolyptic setting is really what amazes me in this. I love abandonded places, and this one totally blew me out of the water. No pun intended ;) Amazing work, I must say. And while this is a shameful shut down, I would love to see it before it gets tore down Janurary.

Leave a Reply

